Major Division

The department is organized into three major divisions:
  • Thermal Engineering
  • Fluid Mechanics
  • Applied Mechanics
The Thermal Engineering division covers the areas of thermo-sciences, applied thermodynamics, energy systems, heat transfer, and pollution control. The Fluid Mechanics division offers courses and specialized work in the areas of fluid mechanics and machinery in general, and fluid dynamics, and experimental and computational fluid mechanics in particular. The Applied Mechanics division emphasizes on such areas as, dynamics, mechanics of deformable solids, design of machine elements, kinematics, and fatigue and fracture mechanics. There are about fifty eight well qualified teaches in the department specialized in one of the above mentioned fields. Many of them have postgraduate degrees from well reputed universities of the developed countries. A good number of teachers are now studying abroad for postgraduate degrees.