The Faculty of Mechanical Engineering is diverse in educational background, professional experience, and interests. The faculty is committed to teaching, research and public service. A number of faculty members hold doctoral degrees in a variety of related fields. The faculty is enriched each year by new regular faculty appointees as well as return of faculty after completing higher education and research abroad. This infusion of new teaching and scholarly talents adds freshness and vitality to the Department of Mechanical Engineering.

Message from Head of the Department

Welcome to the Department of Mechanical Engineering. This is the country’s largest and oldest institute to offer students the opportunity to pursue high quality education in Mechanical Engineering.
Throughout the study programs, considerable emphasis is placed on the development of systematic procedures for analysis and design, and on the responsible use of technology. The undergraduate program prepares the student for a career in engineering, with an emphasis on the technical areas of fluid and thermal energy systems and the conversion of thermal energy to other forms of energy, mechanical systems and machines, and design and control of these systems. The graduate program emphasizesing emerging areas such as biomechanical engineering, mechatronics, emissions reduction technology, nanotechnology, interfacial phenomena, and sustainable energy. The department maintains 17 modern laboratories for undergraduate instructions and graduate research works.
The department is the home to more than 900 undergraduate students, 150 graduate students and 40 faculty members. We offer B.Sc. in Mechanical Engineering, M.Sc. in Mechanical Engineering, Master of Engineering, and Ph.D. programs. The majority of our students experience excellent employment opportunities following graduation. We have many alumni who have gone on to change the world in amazing ways.

Rifat Mahmud Teacher (on leave) E-mail: rifat08@me.buet.ac.bd
Md. Abdul Hamid Teacher (on leave) E-mail: ahamid@me.buet.ac.bd
Md. Saddam Hossain Joy Teacher (on leave) E-mail: saddamhossainjoy@me.buet.ac.bd
Sourav Saha Teacher (on leave) E-mail: ssaha09@me.buet.ac.bd
Satyajit Mojumder Teacher (on leave) E-mail: satyajit@me.buet.ac.bd
Partha Kumar Das Teacher (on leave) E-mail: pkd.ganesh3@gmail.com
Md. Muntasir Alam Teacher (on leave) E-mail: muntasiralam@me.buet.ac.bd
Md. Kamruzzaman Teacher (on leave) E-mail: skzaman@me.buet.ac.bd
Md. Tusher Ahmed Teacher (on leave) E-mail: tusher_ahmed@me.buet.ac.bd
Md. Tanver Hossain Teacher (on leave) E-mail: tan_tusher@me.buet.ac.bd
Musanna Galib Teacher (on leave) E-mail: musannagalib@rocketmail.com
Md. Rakibul Hasan Roni Teacher (on leave) E-mail: rakibulhasan@me.buet.ac.bd
Nusrat Jahan Salim Teacher (on leave) E-mail: nusratsalim@me.buet.ac.bd
Md. Raihan Ali Khan Teacher (on leave) E-mail: raihankhan@me.buet.ac.bd
Dr. M. A. Rashid Sarkar Professor E-mail: rashid@me.buet.ac.bd
Dr. Amalesh Chandra Mandal Professor E-mail: amalesh@me.buet.ac.bd
Dr. S. M. Nazrul Islam Professor E-mail: psmni@me.buet.ac.bd
Dr. Chowdhury Md. Feroz Professor E-mail: cmferoz@me.buet.ac.bd
Dr. Abu Taher Assistant Professor E-mail: taher@me.buet.ac.bd
Dr. Dipak Kanti Das Professor E-mail: dipak@me.buet.ac.bd
Dr. M. Anwar Hossain Professor E-mail: prof.m.anwar.hossain@gmail.com
Dr. AFM Anwarul Haque Professor E-mail: anwar@me.buet.ac.bd
Dr. Md. Abdur Razzaq Akhanda Professor E-mail: akhanda@iut-dhaka.edu
Dr. A.K.M. Sadrul Islam Professor E-mail: sadrul@me.buet.ac.bd
Dr. Anwarul Azim Professor E-mail: anwarazim@me.buet.ac.bd
Dr. M.A. Taher Ali Professor E-mail: taherali@me.buet.ac.bd
Dr. Fazle Elahi Professor E-mail: elahi@me.buet.ac.bd
Dr. Md. Wahhaj Uddin Professor E-mail: wahhaj@me.buet.ac.bd
Mr. Belal Ahmed Associate Professor E-mail: belal@me.buet.ac.bd
Debolina Chakraborty Lecturer E-mail: debolina@me.buet.ac.bd